So it begins…

Am I excited?  Have I been training? How am I going to use the bathroom? Will I be sleeping in a tent?

Sure.

These are the regular questions Seth and I receive from people when they hear we are planning to thru hike the Appalachian trail.  These questions are rather difficult for me to answer, while some are common sense. “In a whole I dig in the ground, of course!” No big thing, but ask me if I feel prepared and you’ll send me into a frenzy of worry and doubt.  Six days out from being on the trail head I see just how not prepared I am! I mean ok, I have all of my gear, I’ve read a million books (yes 1 million…or five) we’ve been walking with weights in our packs, and I have tried to prepare myself mentally. But how do you really prepare to walk continuously for six months through cold rain and torture? You don’t until you do it. 

We’re doing it! We are leaving our wonderful home in four days to head out for this adventure, I truly am excited but also nervous for what is to come (I really don’t want to get struck by lightning).  Fortunately, God is a sovereign God and all we can do is take it one day at a time.  So that is exactly what we are going to do, hike day-to-day, and eventually 168 days later we will end up on Mt. Katahdin.  Everyday is a great day and one of my favorite sayings from thru hikers is “a terrible day on the trail is still better than a day in the office.” I love that and look forward to sharing our freedom with you! Follow us on our adventure and we will try to keep you as updated as possible. 🙂 

Here is a video Seth created for your entertainment, enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7FqAzPQoIVk

Grace and Peace to you,

Kim & Seth

3 thoughts on “So it begins…

  1. I will look forward to following your travels. I’m from Beach Park, Illinios. A good friend of mine walks the A.T. and goes about 6-7 weeks a summer. He will be on the trial June and July. He will be half way through when he returns in July. After listening to the Audio “Walk in the Woods”, I wish you the best, nice temps, no rain and No Blisters!!! I was told about your travels by Luanne Mileski a friend of one of your mothers. Best Wishes
    Carol Noel

Leave a Reply

